That Community Feeling

If you’ve used Ubuntu before, maybe you know what I’m talking about here:

When I upgrade the software on my laptop, it makes me happy.

Ubuntu’s update feature is similar to that of Window or OSX, except that it updates everything, not just the Operating System internals but also every installed application on your system.

I just clicked the button to run the update. The result? Everything is faster. Everything looks better. My favorite applications have cool new features.

Just as important, silly old features have been removed, making everything cleaner and simpler.

It makes me happy knowing that thousands of people contributed to this experience, and after all that work they gave the result to me, for free, and with a smile.

This is part of why I’m so happy to release my work, in turn, as Open Source.

Leave a Reply

